Young Epistemologist Prize - 2015

This will be the eleventh bi-annual Young Epistemologist Prize (YEP) to be awarded.  To be eligible, a person must have a Ph.D. obtained by the time of the submission of the paper but not earlier than ten (10) years prior to the date of the conference.  Thus, for the Rutgers Epistemology Conference 8-9 May, 2015, the Ph.D. must have been awarded between May 8, 2005, and November 10, 2014.

The author of the prize winning essay will present it at the Rutgers Epistemology Conference and it will be published in Philosophy and Phenomenological Research.  The winner of the prize will receive an award of $1,000 plus all travel and lodging expenses connected with attending the conference.

The essay may be in any area of epistemology.  It must be limited to 6,000 words (including the footnotes but not the bibliography).  Please send two copies of the paper as email attachments in a pdf format to:

One copy must mask the author’s identity so that it can be evaluated blindly.  The second copy must be in a form suitable for publication.  The email should have the subject:  “YEP Submission.”  The email must be sent by 8 pm (EST) on November 10, 2014. The winner of the prize will be announced by February 16, 2015.

By submitting the essay, the author agrees not to submit it to another publication venue prior to February 16, 2015, and agrees i) to present the paper at the Rutgers Epistemology Conference, ii) to have it posted on the conference webpage, and iii) to have it published in Philosophy and Phenomenological Research.

All questions about the Young Epistemologist Prize should be sent to

Upcoming Events

Thu, Nov 22, 2018 12:00 am
Thanksgiving-University closed
Fri, Nov 23, 2018 12:00 am
Thanksgiving Break-University Closed
Thu, Nov 29, 2018 3:00 pm-05:00 pm
Department Colloquium- Prof. Quayshawn Spencer (U Penn)
Thu, Dec 6, 2018 3:00 pm-05:00 pm
Faculty Meeting

Why Study Philosophy

button why philosophy





Faculty and Staff

button faculty